good charlotte- do they still have it – a concert review 

Hello everyone! I’ve just risen from the death and am ready to talk about last night’s concert which was the Good Charlotte Show in Stuttgart, Germany.

Now before I start, I should mention that this was the 13th time I’ve seen the guys in concert. So I’ve decided to split this review into three parts:

-How was the show for someone who’s never seen them live?

-How was the show for someone who’s seen them live before?

-How was the show for me personally

So! Let’s get right into it.

The show was sold out and they’ve already been to that venue before so had I and so coming back brought back a lot of good memories. Time to live up to those, right?

The support act was a band from Massachusetts called “Four Year Strong” and I advice to being ear plugs because those guys were loud. They were a great opening act – if you’re into that kind of music- but they did their job and warmed up the crowd; there’s been plenty of crowd surfers and mosh pits.

They’ve played for a good 40 minutes as they were the only opening act and after half an hour of prepping the stage for Good Charlotte, they’ve came on stage.

They started the show with their “loser anthem” “the anthem” and as someone in the audience you could immediately feel the energy both on stage and in the crowd. So much energy. The people around me were crazily dedicated – so was I- and sang and shouted every single word of the lyrics back to GC. And that made for a pretty good start and to be honest, that’s actually how the whole show went. The Fans knew every single word to every single song, the “not so fans” at least knew the lyrics to GC’s singles like “I just wanna live” or “lifestyles of the rich and famous”. So of course for someone who’s seen GC live, the set list wasn’t really a big surprise, all the well known songs had to be in there so everyone could feel included in the show- and I think they did.

I personally did miss my favorite song “movin on” but I was happy they’ve mixed their list up with very old songs like “little things” and topped it all with the first ever live play of “war” off of their newest record “youth authority”.

Considering it was the “youth authority tour” they’ve done a great job in playing a couple of songs off of that record such as “the outfield”, the crowds’ favorite, “life changes” or “makeshift love”. And it didn’t matter if new or old, every song was cherished and celebrated in the same way: by singing along, clapping, dancing and shouting the best parts back to the band. So much fun!

The crowd was pretty mental, there were fans dressed as food from the “I just wanna live” music video and a lot of other people that did crowd surfing but everyone in the crowd was dealing great with that, pointed to the person next to themselves whenever someone was about to climb over their head and everyone was just very caring and looked out for one another, that’s definitely something I want to point out here. Handing out water and passing it to a complete stranger, looking out for other people, that’s peace and the right attitude right there. Of course there had been some squeezing and ellbow action but all in all it was a very committed and caring crowd.

Good Charlotte also were very committed to the show, they’ve played so many songs  but in between they’ve talked to the crowd a lot and wrapped them around their fingers with their american charme and way of speaking german. What I think was really important to the crowd and well done by the guys was to tell them that they’ve had great memories and well just to make them feel appreciated and loved and not forgotten because: it’s been 6 years since they’ve been on that exact same stage.

They’ve played for a bit more than 1,5 hours but because the crowd was so intense, the band was so energetic and gave it 101% everyone was sweating it felt like more than that. And to be honest, I loved it, I loved that they kept going and going and I think I wasn’t the only one.

All in all the show was a complete success, as for me who has seen them before many of times, I would even go as far as to put this show into my top 3, it was just so extremely energetic and literally a happy place for me.

And I think for someone who has never seen Good Charlotte live, well they were in for a huge treat, it was a freaking rock show and I think they’ve enjoyed themselves and got the right impression of the band: that they are born to be on stage, have the perfect chemistry within the band and that they are an amazing rock band that still has it. And I agree to all of that.

The set list was well chosen, even though we had to accept some loses like “the chronicles of life and death” or as mentioned before “movin on”. They made up for that by playing “war” and some of my other favorite songs, though.

The interaction with the crowd was amazing, there’s been real eye contact during sing alongs, there’s been chatting to the crowd and also gratefulness in form of little speeches between songs, there’s nothing more that one could have asked for.

The crowd was super strong, I think there was only one person that had to be dragged out of the crowd due to the extreme situation that are crowd surfers and mosh pits but other than that I think everyone somehow managed to live in that hot, sweaty cloud of people. And just to mention it once, the security was very caring as well, they’ve tried to catch every crowd surfer to prevent injuries, they’ve gave out water and collected the front rows’ purses to that there was more space to dance and rock, cheers to that, it’s not always that way and made this experience even a bit extra amazing.

As you can probably tell, I am super happy with how the show turned out to be, very, very proud of Good Charlotte for still being the same amazing band and I would definitely and definitely recommend checking them out once they’re near you!

Cheers,

Kessy

Leave a Reply

